Permission Access Levels¶
This feature allows to define various permissions in the application. Based on defined permissions, specific actions might be allowed or restricted.
- Users of given type can be viewable by anonymous users/other profiles or not
- Users belonging to a given group can/cannot view specific resources
- Users that are not approved by admins can't use the platform
- Users that have not attached a credit card and haven't subscribed to a given plan, cannot use the platform
- Users of given type can be closed from registration
- Specific objects should be hidden from public
- and many more
Products managed by Sellers who are not approved by admin, cannot be purchased by Customers.
Campsite Managers can log in to the platform and manage their campsites but no-one can register as such user, as they are precreated by admin.
Patient profiles are not viewable publicly and Medical Providers profiles are viewable by Patients only when they are logged in.
Depending on what you are trying to do documentation for the feature is split into the following roles.
- As a developer (restricted)
- As a superuser (restricted)
- As a site administrator (this page)
- As an end user
Feature in action¶
Here you can see an example of how the
Permissions & Access Level Control feature can work.
In this case, we have a Customer and a Seller. Sellers run their own shops, they manage and publish products that can be purchased by Customers. Any user can become a Customer on the platform, but Sellers need to meet specific criteria.
For that purpose we define following groups:
Sellers Pending Approvalgroup
By default all newly registered customers belong to "Customers" group
For Seller and his products to appear in search results, be public and purchasable by customers, Sellers need to:
be verified by admin
be connected with Stripe
have their shop visibility marked as
publicin their profile
Without meeting all aforementioned criteria, neither Sellers nor their products would be visible in search or publicly viewable
After the criteria are met, products become searchable, viewable and purchasable for customers
Approving Sellers by admin¶
By default all new sellers belong to
Sellers Pending Approval group
If seller is waiting for his profile to be approved by administrator, they cannot access many pages, except their profile/account details pages. They are also asked to fill their profile details so admin can approve them
Admin can approve seller profile if their profile details are correct
If admin approves seller profile, they land in
Approved Sellers group
Admin can also decline sellers any time. Declined sellers will have access same access level as
Sellers Pending Approval.
Connecting with Stripe¶
Seller need to connect with Stripe to sell products
Online Store Details > Profile Details there's a switch
Seller any time can decide to unlist themselves and their products from public search and public access.
Once they decide do so, they just need to select
Store Visibility dropdown.